Japan's Own Short Drama Apps in 2026: BUMPiNT, UniReel and FANY:D
Japan has three short drama apps of its own: BUMPiNT from emole, UniReel from COL JAPAN, and FANY:D from Yoshimoto Kogyo. Only BUMPiNT publishes a complete US price list, with coin packs from $0.99 to $24.99 and weekly plans at $9.99 and $19.99. UniReel's US listing showed no subscription price at all, and FANY:D has no verified dollar schedule.
Three apps we rate highest after hands-on testing, if you want a large catalogue today rather than a domestic experiment:
Huge library — thousands of dramas, 200+ new titles every month
Free daily episodes + unlock more by watching ads
Best value for binge-watchers — subscriptions from $5.99/week
For: Android, iOS and Web



6,844 visited this page todayIn-app purchases available
30M+ monthly viewers — one of the fastest-growing drama apps
Daily free episodes and generous new-user bonuses
Addictive revenge & alpha-romance catalog, great localization
For: Android, iOS and Web



In-app purchases available
Best for international viewers — English, Spanish, French & more
Flexible player — control the story pace your way
Coin packs or VIP subscription that unlocks all content
For: Android, iOS and Web



In-app purchases available
One thing to settle first. This article treats Japanese apps as products: who builds them, what they charge, what the evidence supports. If you want the best app for watching Japanese-language drama, most of which are global platforms with Japanese catalogues, read our companion ranking of the best Japanese drama apps for 2026 instead. The two pages answer different questions.
Why Japan has its own short drama apps at all
Why should a domestic app exist when ReelShort, DramaBox and ShortMax already ship Japanese-language interfaces into the same App Store? Because a translated interface is not a Japanese catalogue. A global platform localises what it already owns. A Japanese operator commissions what Japanese viewers ask for, with local casts, comic timing and production partners.
Money followed that logic quickly. COL JAPAN did not simply publish an app in November 2024; it assembled a production committee with LINE Yahoo, Hakuhodo and HUUM the previous September, then launched UniReel with an original tied to Nippon TV. Yoshimoto Kogyo, the country's dominant comedy agency, built FANY:D on its own talent roster. Dentsu took an investment position in emole. Advertising, broadcast and talent institutions are treating one-minute vertical fiction as a distribution channel, not a novelty.
The wider numbers explain the hurry, provided you keep them apart. Sensor Tower estimated roughly $700 million of global short-drama app in-app purchase revenue in the first quarter of 2025, close to four times the same quarter a year earlier. Omdia separately forecast $11 billion in worldwide microdrama revenue for all of 2025. The two get quoted side by side constantly, and that is a category error. Sensor Tower counts mobile in-app purchases in one quarter; Omdia counts a far broader revenue definition across a full year, potentially including advertising, China and money that never touches app-store billing. They measure different things.
BUMPiNT in detail: the only fully priced option
BUMPiNT, operated by emole, is the one Japanese app whose economics you can read before installing. On the US App Store, checked 3 September 2026, the coin packs are 160 for $0.99, 480 for $2.99, 800 for $4.99, 1,200 for $6.99, 2,800 for $17.99 and 4,000 for $24.99.
Run the division and the ladder is almost flat: about 162 coins per dollar at the bottom, 160 at the top, a best rate near 172 on the $6.99 pack and a worst near 156 on the $17.99 pack. Buying bigger does not buy cheaper here. Coins are also not comparable between apps — Vigloo's run at a clean 100 per dollar — because a coin means nothing until you know what an episode costs.
The subscription side is stranger. The listing carries two weekly SKUs, $9.99 and $19.99, and two monthly SKUs, $11.99 and $24.99, with no published account of what separates them. Two prices for the same named interval and no stated distinction is a disclosure problem in itself. Do not average them; read the entitlement description on the Apple purchase sheet before confirming.
Free access runs through waiting and adverts, but emole does not disclose the limits. Some BUMPiNT reviewers on Google Play described the advertising as excessive, and one described a capped number of ad-unlocks per 24 hours — a user's description, not published policy. Two Apple reviews deserve the same caution: one reported repeated charges and difficulty removing stored payment information, another a black screen on playback. Single reports, not a measure of frequency.
The rest of the listing is solid. iPhone and iPad, iOS 15 and later, 163.8 MB, Apple age rating 13+, 33 languages listed on Apple, and phone, Chromebook and tablet on Google Play. Maintenance looks live: Apple version 4.15.0 showed "1d ago" on 3 September 2026, and Google Play was updated 21 August 2026. The catalogue leans on Japanese drama and anime. The US Apple rating base is 58 ratings, a number we return to below.
UniReel in detail: strong pedigree, thin paperwork
UniReel launched for the Japanese market on 26 November 2024 with the most impressive backing of the three. Episodes run around a minute. COL JAPAN built it with a production committee behind it and a Nippon TV original at launch. If you want short drama conceived in Japan by people who make Japanese television, this is the clearest example in the category.
The commercial documentation does not match the pedigree. UniReel advertises a seven-day auto-renewing subscription, and the retained US listing did not disclose what it costs. We are not going to guess. The effect is that the first number you see appears on the purchase sheet, at the moment you are asked to say yes. Some episodes are free; that quota is not published either.
The second flag is maintenance. The Google Play listing was last updated 12 June 2025, more than fifteen months before this article. On a static utility that would be unremarkable. On a live subscription service that streams video and takes recurring payments, a year-plus gap on one of two platforms says something about the attention the Android build receives. UniReel Google reviewers reported freezing and trouble opening the app: individual reports again, but they sit close to the stale-build observation.
The rest: iPhone and iPod touch, iOS 15.6 and later, 145.8 MB, age 13+, English and Japanese only, 48 US Apple ratings.
FANY:D in detail: Yoshimoto's pay-per-episode service
FANY:D is the most Japanese of the three and the hardest to buy from abroad. Yoshimoto Kogyo published its launch release on 22 November 2024 for a 3 December 2024 launch, with episodes of one to three minutes. The model is pure pay-per-episode: you buy coins, and the coin cost varies by episode rather than sitting at a flat rate. Opening episodes are free.
There is no verified USD schedule for FANY:D. We found no current official dollar price sheet, and we will not convert a yen figure and call it a US price. Commercial availability in the United States and Australia could not be verified either. Outside Japan, treat FANY:D as something to know about rather than plan a subscription around. What earns it a section anyway is a free-access design better than anything the global apps offer.
The 72-hour replay window, and why it is the best mechanic here
FANY:D's wait-free feature starts conventionally: you wait instead of paying, and an eligible episode opens. The difference is what happens next. Once unlocked that way, the episode stays replayable for 72 hours.
That sounds small. It is not. Every other timed unlock in this category is built around a single moment of attention: the episode opens, you watch it now, and if your train loses signal at the cliffhanger, that is your problem. A three-day window turns a one-shot unlock into something you hold. Start an episode on the commute, finish it at lunch, rewatch it that evening, all on one unlock.
It is also specific, which matters more. BUMPiNT offers waiting and adverts with limits not disclosed; Vigloo advertises free coins with no stated quota. A published number, even a modest one, beats a generous promise with no boundary, because you can plan against it and tell when it changes. For free viewing across the category, our guide to the free tiers worth using covers how the global apps handle the same problem.
The three Japanese apps compared
| BUMPiNT | UniReel | FANY:D | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operator | emole | COL JAPAN | YOSHIMOTO KOGYO / FANY |
| Launch | Long-running Japanese service; global availability announced 2025 | Japan launch 26 November 2024 | Launched 3 December 2024 (release published 22 November 2024) |
| Pricing model | Hybrid: coins plus weekly and monthly plans | Seven-day auto-renewing subscription | Pay-per-episode coins, cost varies by episode |
| Verified USD price | Coins 160/$0.99 to 4,000/$24.99; weekly $9.99 and $19.99; monthly $11.99 and $24.99 | Not disclosed in the retained US listing | None found |
| Free mechanism | Waiting and adverts; limits not disclosed | Some episodes free; quota not disclosed | Opening episodes free; wait-unlocked episodes replayable 72 hours |
| Platforms | iPhone/iPad, iOS 15+, 163.8 MB, 13+; Google lists phone, Chromebook, tablet | iPhone/iPod, iOS 15.6+, 145.8 MB, 13+ | Japan-focused; US and Australia availability not verified |
| Languages | 33 listed on Apple | English and Japanese | Japanese |
| US Apple ratings | 58 | 48 | Not verified |
| Evidence status | Strongest: full price list, both stores current (Apple 4.15.0 "1d ago", Google 21 August 2026) | Mixed: live Apple page, no price, Google update 12 June 2025 | Weakest for buyers abroad: clearest free-access rule, no USD schedule |
Read that as a ranking of how much you can know, not of quality. BUMPiNT wins on evidence by a distance, UniReel on production credentials, FANY:D on its published free-access rule. Three different kinds of winning.
How the domestic apps differ from the global players
Put a Japanese app beside ReelShort or DramaBox and the differences are structural rather than cosmetic.
| Dimension | Japanese apps (BUMPiNT, UniReel, FANY:D) | Global apps (ReelShort, DramaBox, ShortMax, Vigloo) |
|---|---|---|
| Catalogue origin | Commissioned in Japan, Japanese casts and production partners | Multilingual libraries; Japanese-language versions of globally produced titles |
| Price transparency | Uneven: one complete list, one blank, one unverifiable | Also uneven, but Vigloo and ReelShort publish full ladders including annual plans |
| Review base (US Apple) | 58 and 48 ratings; FANY:D not verified | Roughly 485K (ReelShort), 841K (DramaBox), 171K (ShortMax) |
| Interface languages | BUMPiNT 33; UniReel English and Japanese; FANY:D Japanese | ReelShort English plus 21; ShortMax English plus 19; Vigloo 12 |
| Age rating (US Apple) | 13+ for BUMPiNT and UniReel | 18+ for DramaBox and ShortMax; 13+ for ReelShort and Vigloo |
| Availability | BUMPiNT and UniReel live in the US; FANY:D not verified outside Japan | Broad international distribution |
The age rating line surprises people. On the US Apple storefront, DramaBox and ShortMax are both listed 18+, while BUMPiNT and UniReel are 13+. That is a store-listing fact rather than a content audit, but it matters if you are setting up a device for a teenager. Our DramaBox review and ShortMax review cover each listing in more detail.
On price, only three of the seven apps we examined can be compared honestly.
| App | Weekly | Monthly | Annual | Coin packs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BUMPiNT (emole) | $9.99 and $19.99 (two SKUs, difference not stated) | $11.99 and $24.99 (two SKUs) | Not listed | 160/$0.99 · 480/$2.99 · 800/$4.99 · 1,200/$6.99 · 2,800/$17.99 · 4,000/$24.99 |
| Vigloo (Spoonlabs) | $17.99 | $35.99 | $149.99 | 100/$0.99 · 500/$4.99 · 1,000/$9.99 · 2,000/$19.99 · 3,000/$29.99 |
| ReelShort (NewLeaf Publishing) | $14.99 first week, then $19.99 | $39.99 | $199.99 | Not retained |
| UniReel, FANY:D, DramaBox, ShortMax | Not completable. UniReel's seven-day plan price was not disclosed; FANY:D has no verified USD schedule; current official USD schedules for DramaBox and ShortMax could not be reliably extracted. | |||
A complete seven-app price ranking is not possible from verifiable sources, and any article showing you one has filled the gaps with something. What the verified rows do show is that BUMPiNT's lower tiers undercut the global subscriptions: $11.99 a month against Vigloo's $35.99 and ReelShort's $39.99. Whether that is value depends on how much you watch, the arithmetic in short drama cost per hour. Coin ladders deserve the same scepticism, unpacked in our guide to coin systems, and prices shift between countries as shown in prices by country.
What could not be verified, and why that matters
Every figure above was read from US storefronts on 3 September 2026. Here is what we could not establish, stated plainly:
- UniReel's subscription price. A seven-day auto-renewing plan is advertised. No dollar figure appeared in the retained US listing.
- FANY:D's price schedule. Pay-per-episode, coin costs vary by episode, no current official USD tariff found.
- FANY:D's availability outside Japan. US and Australian commercial availability not verified.
- Free-access quotas for BUMPiNT and UniReel. Both offer free viewing routes. Neither publishes the limits.
- What BUMPiNT's duplicate SKUs entitle you to. Two weekly and two monthly prices, no published distinction.
- Current USD schedules for DramaBox and ShortMax. Not reliably extractable, which is why they are absent from the price table rather than estimated into it.
These gaps are not neutral. A missing price moves the decision from your kitchen table to the checkout screen, and an undisclosed quota is a limit you find by hitting it. One habit covers both: read the store's own purchase sheet, the only number that binds. Our testing methodology explains how we separate a verified storefront figure from a secondhand one, and the same discipline drives our app scorecards.
The ratings-base trap: 48 is not 485,000
UniReel carries an excellent US Apple score built on 48 ratings. BUMPiNT's sits on 58. ReelShort's rests on roughly 485,000, DramaBox on about 841,000 and ShortMax on about 171,000.
These are not comparable quantities wearing the same badge. At 48 ratings, five enthusiastic installs or five angry ones move the average visibly, and the sample can be dominated by early adopters who never reached a paywall. At 485,000, the average has been ground down by every kind of user, including thousands who tried to cancel.
The consequence is what a rating can tell you. A large base gives you a searchable body of complaints about billing, playback and cancellation, which is where these apps actually fail people. A base of 48 cannot. That is not evidence the app is bad; it is an absence of evidence either way, and it means testing the app yourself. The same logic drives our 2026 ranking of all 14 apps, which weighs review volume and price transparency alongside the score.
Who should pick a local app, and who should not
Choose a Japanese app if the origin of the drama is the point: Japanese writers, Japanese casts and Japanese comic timing rather than a global revenge serial dubbed into Japanese. The same holds if you are learning the language and want native audio with native scripting, or if you are in Japan, where the Yoshimoto roster behind FANY:D means something specific. Cost can decide it too: BUMPiNT's $11.99 monthly SKU is under a third of ReelShort's.
Stay with a global app if you want volume, a mature body of user reports before handing over card details, or a published annual price — or if you are shopping outside Japan and cannot afford to discover an availability problem after installing. Anyone who wants Japanese-language content rather than Japanese-origin content is better served by the global apps we rank for Japanese viewers. For a head-to-head across the whole category, use the full comparison table.
How to test one safely before you pay anything
- Watch the free episodes first. All three open with free instalments. Use them to confirm that video plays, subtitles work on your device, and the writing holds you.
- Read the purchase sheet, not the marketing screen. The store's confirmation dialog carries the binding price and renewal interval. This matters most for UniReel, where that sheet is the first place a price appears.
- Check the entitlement text on duplicate tiers. If you are looking at BUMPiNT's $9.99 and $19.99 weekly options, whatever distinguishes them will be in the store description.
- Switch renewal off the moment you subscribe. You keep access for the period you paid for. Deleting the app cancels nothing; the mechanics are in our cancellation guide.
- Set a coin ceiling before you start. On a pay-per-episode app with variable costs, such as FANY:D, spending stays invisible until you check the balance.
- Give it a week, then judge. If you have not finished a series in seven days, a weekly plan is the wrong shape and coins will be cheaper. If the fit is wrong, start again from our short drama app rankings.
Frequently asked questions
How much does BUMPiNT cost?
Coin packs run from 160 coins for $0.99 to 4,000 coins for $24.99 on the US App Store, checked 3 September 2026. Subscriptions appear as two weekly SKUs, $9.99 and $19.99, and two monthly SKUs, $11.99 and $24.99. The listing does not explain what separates the cheaper tier from the dearer one.
Is UniReel's subscription price published?
Not in the US listing retained on 3 September 2026. UniReel advertises a seven-day auto-renewing subscription, but the storefront extract carried no dollar figure. That is a documentation gap rather than evidence of a hidden charge. The price appears on the Apple purchase sheet at checkout, which is where you should read it before confirming.
What is FANY:D's 72-hour replay window?
On eligible episodes unlocked by waiting rather than paying, FANY:D says the episode stays replayable for 72 hours. You can rewatch, pause and resume across three days without spending again. Most rival apps grant a single viewing or an unlock with no stated expiry at all, so this is the clearest free-access rule in the category.
Are BUMPiNT, UniReel and FANY:D available outside Japan?
BUMPiNT and UniReel both had live US Apple listings on 3 September 2026, and BUMPiNT lists 33 interface languages. FANY:D is Japan-focused and its commercial availability in the United States and Australia could not be verified. Availability changes without announcement, so check your own storefront rather than trusting any secondhand list.
Which Japanese short drama app is cheapest?
BUMPiNT is the only one of the three with a complete verified US price list, so an honest three-way cheapest ranking is not possible. Measured against global apps, BUMPiNT's $9.99 weekly and $11.99 monthly SKUs undercut Vigloo at $17.99 weekly and ReelShort at $19.99 per week after its introductory week.
Does a 4.8 rating from 48 reviews mean an app is good?
It means 48 people rated it well. UniReel's 4.8 rests on 48 US Apple ratings and BUMPiNT's score on 58, against roughly 485,000 for ReelShort. A sample that small can move several tenths on a handful of reviews, and it tells you nothing about billing behaviour, playback reliability or catalogue depth.
Should I choose a Japanese app over a global one for Japanese drama?
Choose a domestic app when the origin of the catalogue matters to you: Japanese production, Japanese casting, Japanese comedy. Choose a global app when you want catalogue volume, a mature review record and published prices. If you simply want Japanese-language content, our ranking of global apps for Japanese viewers is the better starting point.
How big is the short drama market?
Sensor Tower estimated roughly $700 million of global short-drama app in-app purchase revenue in the first quarter of 2025, close to four times the same quarter in 2024. Omdia separately forecast $11 billion in worldwide microdrama revenue for all of 2025. The two figures measure different things and must not be combined.
How do I test a Japanese short drama app without overspending?
Install it, watch the free opening episodes, and confirm that playback works before any payment. Read the price on the Apple or Google purchase sheet rather than the marketing screen. If you subscribe, switch off renewal in your store account immediately, then decide at the end of the term whether to switch it back on.
Have users reported problems with these apps?
Individual reviewers have. One BUMPiNT Apple reviewer described repeated charges and difficulty removing payment information, and another reported a black screen on playback. Some BUMPiNT Google reviewers described excessive advertising. UniReel Google reviewers reported freezing and trouble opening the app. These are single reports, not measured prevalence.
Sources
- BUMPiNT, US Apple App Store — coin packages, weekly and monthly SKUs, version 4.15.0, device and iOS requirements, 33 listed languages, 13+ age rating, 58 US ratings, and the individual user reviews cited. Checked 3 September 2026.
- BUMPiNT, Google Play — supported device classes, listing updated 21 August 2026, and the advertising-related user reviews referenced. Checked 3 September 2026.
- UniReel, US Apple App Store — seven-day auto-renewing subscription described without a disclosed USD price, iOS 15.6+ requirement, 145.8 MB, 13+, English and Japanese, 48 US ratings. Checked 3 September 2026.
- UniReel, Google Play — listing last updated 12 June 2025, and the freezing and app-opening reports referenced. Checked 3 September 2026.
- FANY:D launch release (published 22 November 2024) — 3 December 2024 launch, episodes of one to three minutes, free opening episodes and pay-per-episode model.
- FANY:D official FAQ — wait-free unlocking, the 72-hour replay window on eligible episodes, and coin costs that vary by episode.
- Vigloo, US Apple App Store — weekly $17.99, monthly $35.99, annual $149.99, coin packages, iOS 16.1+, 184.3 MB, 13+, 12 listed languages. Checked 3 September 2026.
- ReelShort subscription page and its US Apple listing — $14.99 first week then $19.99 weekly, $39.99 monthly, $199.99 annual, 158.4 MB, 13+, English plus 21 languages, roughly 485,000 US ratings. Checked 3 September 2026.
- US Apple listings for DramaBox (age 18+, about 841,000 ratings) and ShortMax (iPhone, age 18+, English plus 19 languages, about 171,000 ratings). Current official USD price schedules could not be reliably extracted from either listing on 3 September 2026, which is why neither appears in the price table.
- Sensor Tower, State of Short Drama Apps — approximately $700M of global short-drama app in-app purchase revenue in Q1 2025, close to four times Q1 2024. Measures mobile in-app purchases only.
- Omdia microdrama forecast (14 October 2025) — $11B forecast for worldwide microdrama revenue in 2025 on a broader revenue definition than app-store IAP. Not comparable with the Sensor Tower figure.
- Apple billing and subscriptions and Google Play subscription cancellation — renewal and cancellation mechanics referenced in the testing section.
- ShortDramaTop hands-on testing of short drama apps, their free tiers, coin economies and cancellation flows (how we test).
1